July 17
SCDOT Seeks Public Comment Regarding US 17 in Colleton County

The South Carolina Department of Transportation is asking for comments from the public regarding the proposed action to fund the last construction phase of the US 17 project in Colleton County from near Lightsey Plantation Drive, north to SC 64 in Jacksonboro. Funding for this project will be from a combination of state and federal sources.  SCDOT must utilize an amount of approximately $46.0 million from a federal category called “equity bonus”. These funds, which are above and beyond South Carolina’s normal yearly federal funding allocation, must be approved by Federal Highway for construction within the 2009 federal fiscal year. This US 17 project will allow for the utilization of these funds.  This unique funding opportunity will be combined with $20 million from the State Infrastructure Bank, and is planned to include $37.3 million in additional federal funding, if necessary, to allow for the completion of the last phase of the corridor construction which began in 2007.  The advancement of the project will have the added benefit of putting people, suppliers, and other construction related industries to work in this difficult economic time.  US Department of Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood recently wrote all of the Governors encouraging rapid deployment of projects in economically distressed areas.  The US 17 project does exactly that.


      This action follows the direction given to the Department from the Commission in June 2007 to seek funding to complete the improvements to the US 17 Corridor.  This project is the only single project in the state that has all necessary permitting, environmental, and construction documents prepared for advancement of sufficient size to ensure all federal funds available are utilized by the end of the fiscal year.  If not obligated by this date, these federal funds could be in jeopardy of being lost to the state.


            A copy of the proposal will be made available for public review online at: and at the following locations:




South Carolina Council of Governments:

Appalachian Council of Governments

Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,

Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg

30 Century Circle

Greenville, SC 29606

Lower Savannah Council of Governments

Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg

2748 Wagener Road

Hwy 302 North

Aiken, SC 29801





Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick & Saluda

222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200

Greenwood, SC 29646

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter

36 West Liberty Street

Sumter, SC 29151





Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union

215 Hampton Street

Second Floor

Rock Hill, SC 29731

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro

2319 Regional Road

Florence, SC 29501





Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland

236 Stoneridge Drive

Columbia, SC 29210

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper

634 Campground Road

Yemassee, SC 29945





Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg

1230 Highmarket Street

Georgetown, SC 29440

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester

1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100

North Charleston, Sc 29405




SCDOT District Offices:

District 1

1400 Shop Road

Columbia, SC 29201




District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive

Greenville, SC 29607




District 5

3018 East Palmetto

Florence, SC 29506




District 7

US Route 178 East Bowman Road

Orangeburg, SC 29116


District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave.

Greenwood, SC 29646




District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass

Chester, SC 29706




District 6

6355 Fain Blvd.

North Charleston, SC 29406



            Comments will be accepted until July 31, 2009 and should be forwarded to Mr. Ron Patton, Director of Planning and Environmental at SCDOT, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or