September 19
State Scenic Highway Committee Meeting Sept. 25 in York County

The State Scenic Highways Committee will meet Thursday, Sept. 25 in York County.  The Committee is responsible for the state and federal Scenic Byways programs.  The eleven member committee is made up of gubernatorial appointments and various ex officio members.  It is staffed by the South Carolina Department of Transportation.


The meeting will begin at 2:30 p.m. in the York County Council Chambers, Agricultural Building, 6 South Congress St., York.


The Committee is in York County to review portions of Hwy 161, 321, 324, 322, 49, 211, 97, and 55 (Western York County Rural Heritage Byway which includes the Towns of York, McConnells, Sharon, Hickory Grove and Smyrna) for consideration for State Scenic Highway Designation.  The Committee will receive input on the County’s application and discuss briefly the process of designation.


State Scenic Highway Designation is intended to limit outdoor advertising; increase tourism; protect natural and cultural resources; promote responsible growth; and, boost community pride.  Designated highways are eligible for federal Scenic Byway Discretionary Funds on a competitive basis.