April 27
Ceremony 9 a.m. Thursday, April 28, to Honor Fallen SCDOT Workers

The media is invited to attend a brief ceremony Thursday, April 28, 2016, honoring South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) employees who have lost their lives on the job.

The event will begin at 9 a.m. on the front steps of SCDOT Headquarters, 955 Park St., Columbia. Note: Park Street will be closed from Pendleton Street to College Street for this event and will reopen shortly after its conclusion. News media parking will be available inside the barricades.

A concurrent resolution passed by South Carolina General Assembly declared April 28, 2016, as "Workers' Memorial Day" in tribute to the working men and women who have lost their lives because of workplace injuries and illnesses.

While SCDOT will be honoring all agency employees who have lost their lives on the job, it will highlight three employees during the ceremony:

  • Timothy Gibson heroically lost his life while working the 1,000-year flood in October 2015. Gibson worked for SCDOT's Richland Maintenance and was working in the Gill's Greek area of Garners Ferry Road when his SCDOT truck was swept away by rushing waters.


  • Henry Clay "Ray" Norris Jr., a highway maintenance worker at SCDOT Darlington Maintenance, died on the job on Oct. 20, 2015. He was struck by a truck while working in Darlington County.


  • Paul Fee, a highway maintenance worker and a member of SCDOT Richland Maintenance, Blythewood Section Crew, was killed in February 2015. Fee and his crew were engaged in pothole patching operations in a temporary work zone on Farrow Road in Columbia when pick-up truck drove into the work zone, striking him.


    Scheduled speakers include Secretary of Transportation Christy A. Hall; SCDOT Commission Chairman Mike Wooten; Emily Lawton, SC Division Administrator, Federal Highway Administration; Kenny Eargle, SCDOT Director of Occupational Safety and Health; and Andy Leaphart, SCDOT Chief of Operations.