January 27
SCDOT Seeks Public Comment on Two Upgrade Projects on Interstate 26  in Newberry, Lexington & Richland Counties and Charleston County

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is providing public notification of proposed upgrade projects on Interstate 26.  Pending consideration of public comments, the projects will be recommended for inclusion in the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) and subsequently programmed for design and construction based on available funding.  


The Upgrade Projects include:


·         Widening approximately 16 miles of I-26 from 4 to 6 lanes from SC 202 to US 176 in Newberry, Lexington and Richland counties.  The project includes bridge jacking and interchange upgrades at US 176 and Road S-48.

Estimated cost: $241,144,000.00


·         Widening approximately six (6) miles of I-26 from 6 to 8 lanes from Montague Avenue (Exit 213) to Heriot Street (Exit 219) in Charleston County. The project will include upgrades to the Road S-642 Interchange; the SC 7 (Cosgrove Avenue) Interchange; the mainline bridge over Road S-222 (Baker Hospital BLVD); the viaduct over Hagood, Milford and Braswell streets, and the viaduct over Heriot Street.  The widening project will tie into the new Port Access Road Interchange, scheduled for a 2016 letting as a design build project.

Estimated cost: $483,800,000.00


A copy of this press release and location maps of the proposed I-26 upgrade projects are available for public review and comment online until February 11, 2016 at:


A summary of comments received during the comment period will be provided to the SCDOT Commission for consideration.


To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release and any supporting information are available for public review and comment at the following locations:


South Carolina Council of Governments:

Appalachian Council of Governments

Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,

Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg

30 Century Circle

Greenville, SC 29606

(864) 242-9733


Lower Savannah Council of Governments

Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg

2748 Wagener Road

Hwy 302 North

Aiken, SC 29801

(803) 649-7981



Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens,   McCormick & Saluda

430 Helix Road

Greenwood SC 29646

Telephone: (864) 941-8072

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter

36 West Liberty Street

Sumter, SC 29151

(803) 775-7381                                                                            



Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union

215 Hampton Street

Second Floor

Rock Hill, SC 29731

(803) 327-1912

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro

2319 Regional Road

Florence, SC 29501

(843) 669-4392



Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland

236 Stoneridge Drive

Columbia, SC 29210

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper

634 Campground Road

Yemassee, SC 29945

(803) 376-5390


(843) 726-5536

Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg

1230 Highmarket Street

Georgetown, SC 29440

(843) 546-8502            

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester

1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100

North Charleston, SC 29405         

(843) 529-0400



SCDOT District Offices:

District 1

1400 Shop Road

Columbia, SC 29201

(803) 737-6660


District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive

Greenville, SC 29607

(864) 241-1010


District 5

3018 East Palmetto

Florence, SC 29506

(843) 661-4710


District 7

US Route 178 East Bowman Road

Orangeburg, SC 29116

District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave.

Greenwood, SC 29646

(864) 227-6971


District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass

Chester, SC 29706

(803) 377-4155



District 6

6355 Fain Blvd.

North Charleston, SC 29406

(843) 740-1665

(803) 531-6850


Comments will be accepted until the close of business on  February  11, 2016 and should be forwarded to Ms. Vivian Patterson, Public Involvement Manager, and SCDOT Office of Planning, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or  


NOTE: Information provided, including name and address, is subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act.