May 28
Public Comment Sought For Modifications to Furman Road, Martin Road, and Construction of a New 1.5 mile Access Road to Serve a New Business Park  in Anderson County

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is providing public notification for modifications to Furman Road, Martin Road, and construction of a new 1.5 mile roadway referred to as the “Keystone Parkway” to facilitate access to a new business park in Anderson County.  Anderson County was awarded $2,500,000 in Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) Local Access Road Funds in addition to $2,988,800 in State Commerce and local funds to complete the improvements.   The total estimated funding by phase of work is $368,000 for Preliminary Engineering, $710,000 for Right-of-Way, and $4,410,800 for construction.

The road improvements include the realignment of Martin Road, realignment and extension of Furman Road, and the construction of a new roadway to facilitate access to a new business park.

A copy of this press release (along with a location map) is available for public review until Thursday, June 12, 2014 on the world wide web at:

To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release and any supporting information are available for public review and comment at the following locations:


South Carolina Council of Governments:

Appalachian Council of Governments

Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,

Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg

30 Century Circle

Greenville, SC 29606

Lower Savannah Council of Governments

Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg

2748 Wagener Road

Hwy 302 North

Aiken, SC 29801

(864) 242-9733

(803) 649-7981


Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens,   McCormick & Saluda

430 Helix Road

Greenwood, SC 29646

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter

36 West Liberty Street

Sumter, SC 29151

(803) 775-7381                                                                                   

(864) 941-8072



Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union

215 Hampton Street

Second Floor

Rock Hill, SC 29731

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro

2319 Regional Road

Florence, SC 29501

(803) 327-1912


(843) 669-4392


Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland

236 Stoneridge Drive

Columbia, SC 29210

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper

634 Campground Road

Yemassee, SC 29945

(803) 376-5390


(843) 726-5536


Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg

1230 Highmarket Street

Georgetown, SC 29440

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester

1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100

North Charleston, SC 29405

(843) 546-8502                        (843) 529-0400


SCDOT District Offices:

District 1

1400 Shop Road

Columbia, SC 29201

(803) 737-6660


District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive

Greenville, SC 29607

(864) 241-1010


District 5

3018 East Palmetto

Florence, SC 29506

(843) 661-4710


District 7

US Route 178 East Bowman Road

Orangeburg, SC 29116

District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave.

Greenwood, SC 29646

(864) 227-6971


District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass

Chester, SC 29706

(803) 377-4155



District 6

6355 Fain Blvd.

North Charleston, SC 29406

(843) 740-1665

(803) 531-6850

Comments will be accepted until the close of business on June 12, 2015   and should be forwarded to Ms. Vivian Patterson, Public Involvement Manager, and SCDOT Office of Planning, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or  A summary of public comments will be provided to the SCDOT Commission for consideration prior to approving the project in the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP).   


 NOTE: Information provided, including name and address, is subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act.