May 28
SCDOT to Amend the I-20/I-26/I-126 Corridor Improvements Project Description in STIP

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is providing public notification for a proposed amendment to the Statewide Transportation Improvement Plan (STIP) that would update the project description for the I-20/I-26/I-126 Corridor improvements (Carolina Crossroads Project) in Lexington and Richland counties.

The proposed amendment removes specific references to express lanes and widening improvements along the corridor, as well as consolidates funding of $82.6 million for construction FY 2019.

At present, SCDOT in cooperation with the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) has initiated a 36-month environmental impact statement (EIS) analysis to determine the preferred design solution for the I-20/I-26/I-126 Corridor. Pending the completion of the EIS, the STIP project description will be further defined with specific project improvements identified by scope, schedule and budget.

A copy of this press release and a project location map are available for public review and comment until June 12, 2015 on the world wide web at:


To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release and any supporting information are available for public review and comment at the following locations:


South Carolina Council of Governments:

Appalachian Council of Governments

Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,

Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg

30 Century Circle

Greenville, SC 29606

Lower Savannah Council of Governments

Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg

2748 Wagener Road

Hwy 302 North

Aiken, SC 29801

(864) 242-9733


(803) 649-7981



Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens,   McCormick & Saluda

430 Helix Road

Greenwood, SC 29646

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter

36 West Liberty Street

Sumter, SC 29151

(803) 775-7381                                                                                     

(864) 941-8072



Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union

215 Hampton Street

Second Floor

Rock Hill, SC 29731

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro

2319 Regional Road

Florence, SC 29501

(803) 327-1912

(843) 669-4392


Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland

236 Stoneridge Drive

Columbia, SC 29210

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper

634 Campground Road

Yemassee, SC 29945

(803) 376-5390


(843) 726-5536

Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg

1230 Highmarket Street

Georgetown, SC 29440

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester

1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100

North Charleston, SC 29405

(843) 546-8502                                                                             (843) 529-0400


SCDOT District Offices:

District 1

1400 Shop Road

Columbia, SC 29201

(803) 737-6660


District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive

Greenville, SC 29607

(864) 241-1010


District 5

3018 East Palmetto

Florence, SC 29506

(843) 661-4710


District 7

US Route 178 East Bowman Road

Orangeburg, SC 29116

District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave.

Greenwood, SC 29646

(864) 227-6971


District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass

Chester, SC 29706

(803) 377-4155


District 6

6355 Fain Blvd.

North Charleston, SC 29406

(843) 740-1665

(803) 531-6850



Comments will be accepted until the close of business on June 12, 2015 and should be forwarded to Ms. Vivian Patterson, Public Involvement Manager, and SCDOT Office of Planning, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or pattersovm@scdot.orgA summary of public comments will be provided to the SCDOT Commission for consideration prior to amending the project in the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP).  



NOTE: Information provided, including name and address, is subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act.