July 24
Public Comment Sought to Add Selected Safe Routes To School Projects to the STIP

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is soliciting public comment on ten (10) projects selected to receive up to a maximum of $400 thousand each in Safe Routes To School funds prior to their consideration for inclusion in the South Carolina Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). 


SCDOT's Safe Routes to School Program assists schools and communities in the planning, development, and implementation of projects and activities that will improve safety and reduce traffic, fuel consumption, and air pollution in the vicinity of schools while promoting a healthy lifestyle for children and their parents. Schools selected designed a comprehensive Safe Routes to School Plan specific to that school. Plans incorporate the Five E's of Safe Routes to School: Engineering, Education, Encouragement, Enforcement, and Evaluation.


The proposed selected schools based on rank, regions, and projects include:

  • Ford Elementary in Laurens

Improvement to Sidewalk around school and installation of a bike rack.

  • Duncan Chapel Elementary in Greenville

    Support Sidewalk on Duncan Chapel Road between the Vinings and Duncan Chapel Elementary and along Old Buncombe Road; installation of a bike rack and high-visible crosswalks.

  • Croswell Drive Elementary in Sumter

    Installation of signage and raised crosswalks around school and re-striping of crosswalks and stop bars along Crosswell Drive.

  • Burton Park Elementary in Columbia

Sidewalk improvement and installation of signage around school.

  • Conway Elementary in Conway

    Sidewalk and drainage improvements along Snowhill Drive, Sherwood Drive, and Magrath Avenue.

  • Rosewood Elementary International in Rock Hill

    Sidewalk improvement and installation of signage/high visibility crosswalks around school.

  • JP Thomas Elementary in Columbia
  • Installation of signage around school and a bike rack.
  • Lakeview Elementary in Greenwood

    Sidewalk improvement and installation of signage/high visibility crosswalks around school.

  • Stone Academy in Greenville

    Sidewalk improvement and installation of signage/high visibility crosswalks around school.

  • Carolina Elementary in Hartsville

    Sidewalk improvement and installation of signage around school and a bike rack.


Projects will be divided into two groups; the first five schools will proceed to the PE phase within the 2014 federal fiscal year. The remainder of the schools will go to the PE phase in the 2015 federal fiscal year.


A copy of this press release is available for public review until August 8, 2014 on the world web at:


To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release and any supporting information are available for public review and comment at the following locations:






South Carolina Council of Governments:

Appalachian Council of Governments

Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,

Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg

30 Century Circle

Greenville, SC 29606

Lower Savannah Council of Governments

Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg

2748 Wagener Road

Hwy 302 North

Aiken, SC 29801

(864) 242-9733

(803) 649-7981

Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick & Saluda

222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200

Greenwood, SC 29646

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter

36 West Liberty Street

Sumter, SC 29151

(803) 775-7381

(864) 941-8090


Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union

215 Hampton Street

Second Floor

Rock Hill, SC 29731

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro

2319 Regional Road

Florence, SC 29501

(803) 327-1912

(843) 669-4392

Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland

236 Stoneridge Drive

Columbia, SC 29210

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper

634 Campground Road

Yemassee, SC 29945

(803) 376-5390

(843) 726-5536

Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg

1230 Highmarket Street

Georgetown, SC 29440

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester

1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100

North Charleston, SC 29405

(843) 546-8502                     (843) 529-0400


SCDOT District Offices:

District 1

1400 Shop Road

Columbia, SC 29201

(803) 737-6660


District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive

Greenville, SC 29607

(864) 241-1010


District 5

3018 East Palmetto

Florence, SC 29506

(843) 661-4710


District 7

US Route 178 East Bowman Road

Orangeburg, SC 29116

District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave.

Greenwood, SC 29646

(864) 227-6971


District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass

Chester, SC 29706

(803) 377-4155


District 6

6355 Fain Blvd.

North Charleston, SC 29406

(843) 740-1665

(803) 531-6850


Comments will be accepted until the close of business on August 8, 2014 and should be forwarded to Vivian Patterson, Public Involvement Manager, and SCDOT Office of Planning, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or


NOTE: Information provided, including name and address, is subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act.