May 21
Public Comment Sought for Mass Transit Statewide Funding Summary and Recommended Projects

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is seeking comment from the public on the Federal Fiscal Year 2014 Mass Transit Statewide Federal Funding Plan and projects that will receive Federal Transit Administration (FTA) program funds under the State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2014-2015 Mass Transit annual funding program.


SCDOT's Office of Public Transit recommends funding awards utilizing FFY2014 Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP-21) for the following projects:


  • Section 5311: Formula Grants for Rural Areas Program
  • Section 5310: Mobility of Seniors and Individuals with Disabilities Program

(Rural & Small Urban)

  • Section 5304: Statewide Planning Program
  • Section 5339: Bus & Bus Facilities Program (FFY2013 & FFY2014 program funds)
  • Statewide Allocation of State Mass Transit Funds


Additionally, SCDOT is recommending FTA funds for eligible projects during SFY2014-2015 utilizing previously unobligated SAFETEA-LU formula funding for the programs noted below:


  • Section 5316: Job Access and Reverse Commute Program (Rural & Small Urban) (SAFETEA-LU)
  • Section 5317 New Freedom Program (Rural & Small Urban) (SAFETEA-LU)


A copy of this press release, pie charts and category definitions that highlight the various programs, recipients and proposed funding levels are available for public review and comment until June 5, 2014 on the world web at:


To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release is available for public review and comment at the following locations:


South Carolina Council of Governments:

Appalachian Council of Governments

Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,

Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg

30 Century Circle

Greenville, SC 29606

Lower Savannah Council of Governments

Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg

2748 Wagener Road

Hwy 302 North

Aiken, SC 29801

(864) 242-9733

(803) 649-7981

Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick & Saluda

222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200

Greenwood, SC 29646

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter

36 West Liberty Street

Sumter, SC 29151

(803) 775-7381

(864) 941-8090



Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union

215 Hampton Street

Second Floor

Rock Hill, SC 29731


Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro

2319 Regional Road

Florence, SC 29501

(803) 327-1912

(843) 669-4392

Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland

236 Stoneridge Drive

Columbia, SC 29210

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper

634 Campground Road

Yemassee, SC 29945

(803) 376-5390

(843) 726-5536

Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg

1230 Highmarket Street

Georgetown, SC 29440

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester

1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100

North Charleston, SC 29405

(843) 546-8502                     (843) 529-0400


SCDOT District Offices:

District 1

1400 Shop Road

Columbia, SC 29201

(803) 737-6660


District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive

Greenville, SC 29607

(864) 241-1010


District 5

3018 East Palmetto

Florence, SC 29506

(843) 661-4710


District 7

US Route 178 East Bowman Road

Orangeburg, SC 29116

District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave.

Greenwood, SC 29646

(864) 227-6971


District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass

Chester, SC 29706

(803) 377-4155


District 6

6355 Fain Blvd.

North Charleston, SC 29406

(843) 740-1665

(803) 531-6850


Comments will be accepted until the close of business on June 5, 2014 and should be forwarded to Vivian Patterson, Public Involvement Manager, and SCDOT Office of Planning, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or



For more information pertaining to Funding Recommendations for SFY2014 – 2015 Transit Programs, contact: Diane Lackey, Statewide Programs Manager, Office of Public Transit, at 803-737-0831.


NOTE: Information provided, including name and address, is subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act.