March 25
Public Comment Sought for Transit Programs’ Funding Recommendations

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is seeking comment from the public on projects recommended to receive Federal Transit Administration (FTA) funding during SFY2013-2014. 
On October 16, 2012 the FTA published Moving Ahead for Progress in the Twenty-first Century (MAP-21) FFY2013 formula funding amounts and guidance via Federal Register, Vol. 77, No. 200.  Available apportionments for FTA formula programs are amounts at approximately one half of the funding levels available in FFY 2012 pursuant to the Continuing Appropriations Resolution, 2013 (CR) (Pub. L. 112-175) and as authorized by the U.S. Congress. SCDOT Office of Public Transit seeks comment on recommended funding awards for the following programs:
Section 5310 Mobility of Seniors and Individuals with Disabilities Program
(Rural & Small Urban) (MAP-21)
Section 5311 Formula Grants for Rural Areas Program (Rural) (MAP-21)
Additionally, SCDOT is recommending FTA federal funds for eligible projects during SFY2013-2014 utilizing the previously unobligated SAFETEA-LU formula program funds.  The SCDOT Office of Public Transit seeks public comment for recommended award for the programs noted below:
Section 5316 Job Access and Reverse Commute Program (Rural & Small Urban)
Section 5317 New Freedom Program (Rural & Small Urban) (SAFETEA-LU)
  A copy of this press release and the list of projects recommended for funding is available for public review and comment on the world web at:
            To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release and a site location map also are available for public review and comment at the following
South Carolina Council of Governments:
Appalachian Council of Governments
Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,
Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg
30 Century Circle
Greenville, SC 29606
Lower Savannah Council of Governments
Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg
2748 Wagener Road
Hwy 302 North
Aiken, SC 29801
(864) 242-9733
(803) 649-7981
Upper Savannah Council of Governments
Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens,   McCormick & Saluda
222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200
Greenwood, SC 29646
Santee-Lynches Council of Governments
Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter
36 West Liberty Street
Sumter, SC 29151
(803) 775-7381                                                                                      
(864) 941-8090
Catawba Regional Council of Governments
Chester, Lancaster, York & Union
215 Hampton Street
Second Floor
Rock Hill, SC 29731
Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments
Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro
2319 Regional Road
Florence, SC 29501
(803) 327-1912
(843) 669-4392
Central Midlands Council of Governments
Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland
236 Stoneridge Drive
Columbia, SC 29210
Lowcountry Council of Governments
Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper
634 Campground Road
Yemassee, SC 29945
(803) 376-5390
(843) 726-5536
Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments
Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg
1230 Highmarket Street
Georgetown, SC 29440
Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments
Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester
1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100
North Charleston, SC 29405

(843) 546-8502                   (843) 529-0400

<><> <><>
District 1
1400 Shop Road
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 737-6660
District 3
252 S. Pleasantburg Drive
Greenville, SC 29607
(864) 241-1010
District 5
3018 East Palmetto
Florence, SC 29506
(843) 661-4710
District 7
US Route 178 East Bowman Road
Orangeburg, SC 29116
District 2
510 W. Alexander Ave.
Greenwood, SC 29646
(864) 227-6971
District 4
1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 377-4155
District 6
6355 Fain Blvd.
North Charleston, SC 29406
(843) 740-1665
(803) 531-6850
            Comments will be accepted until the close of business on April 9, 2013 and should be forwarded to Mark Pleasant, Statewide Planning Chief at SCDOT, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or
For more information pertaining to Funding Recommendations for SFY2013 – 2014 Transit Programs, contact: Ms. Diane Lackey, Statewide Programs Manager, Office of Public Transit, at 803-737-0146.