September 26
SCDOT Announces Federal Transit Administration Discretionary Grant Awards

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is seeking comment from the public on projects  in McCormick County and the City of Seneca receiving funding from the Federal Transit Administration’s (FTA) Section 5309 Bus Livability  and State of Good Repair discretionary grant programs prior to their consideration for inclusion into  the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP), respectively.
                McCormick County Senior Services will receive $18,000 in FFY 2012 Section 5309 (State of Good Repair) funds for purchase of capital equipment (fareboxes) in support of its rural transit services. The agency will install fare collection boxes to its vehicles in order to reduce the transit driver’s handling, processing or making change for passengers.  The use of these fareboxes will provide an additional level of control for the agency’s financial cash management.   A copy of the proposal for this award may be reviewed by contacting: 
Upper Savannah Council of Governments
Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick, and Saluda
222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200
Greenwood, SC 29646
Attn: Mr. Rick Green, Planning Director
(864) 941-8090
The City of Seneca will receive $1,812,500 in FFY 2012 Section 5309 (Bus Livability) funds for vehicle acquisition in support of its rural transit services.  With funding provided by this grant for the purchase of two fast-charge battery electric buses, Seneca will be able to provide a needed student transit route.  The City of Seneca, through a contract with Clemson Area Transit (CATBUS), currently provides three fare-free transit routes: a business circulator route and residential circulator route provide transit service around town; while an express service links Seneca to the City of Clemson, four colleges, the Amtrak station, and the Electric City Transit system in Anderson.  Seneca also provides a dedicated fare-free service from Highpointe, a residential and student housing complex, to Clemson University. A copy of the proposal for this project may be reviewed by contacting:
City of Seneca, South Carolina
221 East North First Street
Seneca, SC 29679
Attn: Mr. Ed Halbig, Planning & Development Director
(864) 885-2726
                A copy of this press release is available for public review and comment on the world web at:
                To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release is available for public review and comment at the following locations:
South Carolina Council of Governments:
Appalachian Council of Governments
Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,
Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg
30 Century Circle
Greenville, SC 29606
Lower Savannah Council of Governments
Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg
2748 Wagener Road
Hwy 302 North
Aiken, SC 29801
(864) 242-9733
(803) 649-7981
Upper Savannah Council of Governments
Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens,   McCormick & Saluda
222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200
Greenwood, SC 29646
Santee-Lynches Council of Governments
Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter
36 West Liberty Street
Sumter, SC 29151
(803) 775-7381                                                                                      
(864) 941-8090
Catawba Regional Council of Governments
Chester, Lancaster, York & Union
215 Hampton Street
Second Floor
Rock Hill, SC 29731
Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments
Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro
2319 Regional Road
Florence, SC 29501
(803) 327-1912
(843) 669-4392
Central Midlands Council of Governments
Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland
236 Stoneridge Drive
Columbia, SC 29210
Lowcountry Council of Governments
Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper
634 Campground Road
Yemassee, SC 29945
(803) 376-5390
(843) 726-5536
Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments
Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg
1230 Highmarket Street
Georgetown, SC 29440
Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments
Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester
1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100
North Charleston, SC 29405

(843) 546-8502                         (843) 529-0400

<> <>
District 1
1400 Shop Road
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 737-6660
District 3
252 S. Pleasantburg Drive
Greenville, SC 29607
(864) 241-1010
District 5
3018 East Palmetto
Florence, SC 29506
(843) 661-4710
District 7
US Route 178 East Bowman Road
Orangeburg, SC 29116
District 2
510 W. Alexander Ave.
Greenwood, SC 29646
(864) 227-6971
District 4
1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 377-4155
District 6
6355 Fain Blvd.
North Charleston, SC 29406
(843) 740-1665
(803) 531-6850
                Comments will be accepted until the close of business on October 11, 2012 and should be forwarded to Mr. Mark Pleasant, Statewide Planning Chief at SCDOT, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or

For more information pertaining to Federal Transit Administration Discretionary Grant programs in South Carolina, contact: Diane Lackey, Statewide Programs Manager, and Office of Public Transit at 803-737-0146.