August 21
Public Comment Sought for Lowcountry COG Project Receiving FTA Grant for Veterans Transportation and Community Living Initiative      

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is seeking comment from the public on a project receiving funding from the Federal Transit Administration’s (FTA) Section 5312 for the Veterans Transportation and Community Living Initiative (VTCLI) discretionary grant program for amendment into the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). 
The Lowcountry Council of Governments (LCOG) was previously awarded a grant from the FTA to increase the availability of community transportation resources to veterans, service members and military families.  The current award is for $49,714 under FTA Section 5312 and is intended to assist the LCOG in conducting a three-phased outreach project and needs analysis of veterans and regional service groups.  The recipient will also update the existing coordination plan and marketing strategy to reach a variety of veterans and veterans groups.
The VTCLI Program as carried out by the LCOG and its participating partner agency, Palmetto Breeze Regional Transit Authority, will operate in Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton and Jasper counties.
                A copy of the proposal may be reviewed by contacting:
Lowcountry Council of Governments
Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper
634 Campground Road
Yemassee, SC 29945
Attn: Ms. Ginnie Kozak, Planning Director
(843) 726-5536
A copy of this press release is available for public review and comment on the internet at:
                To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release also is available for public review and comment at the following locations:
South Carolina Council of Governments:
Appalachian Council of Governments
Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,
Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg
30 Century Circle
Greenville, SC 29606
Lower Savannah Council of Governments
Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg
2748 Wagener Road
Hwy 302 North
Aiken, SC 29801
(864) 242-9733
(803) 649-7981
Upper Savannah Council of Governments
Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens,   McCormick & Saluda
222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200
Greenwood, SC 29646
Santee-Lynches Council of Governments
Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter
36 West Liberty Street
Sumter, SC 29151
(803) 775-7381                                                                                      
(864) 941-8090
Catawba Regional Council of Governments
Chester, Lancaster, York & Union
215 Hampton Street
Second Floor
Rock Hill, SC 29731
Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments
Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro
2319 Regional Road
Florence, SC 29501
(803) 327-1912
(843) 669-4392
Central Midlands Council of Governments
Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland
236 Stoneridge Drive
Columbia, SC 29210
Lowcountry Council of Governments
Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper
634 Campground Road
Yemassee, SC 29945
(803) 376-5390
(843) 726-5536
Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments
Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg
1230 Highmarket Street
Georgetown, SC 29440
Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments
Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester
1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100
North Charleston, SC 29405

(843) 546-8502                            (843) 529-0400

<> <>
District 1
1400 Shop Road
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 737-6660
District 3
252 S. Pleasantburg Drive
Greenville, SC 29607
(864) 241-1010
District 5
3018 East Palmetto
Florence, SC 29506
(843) 661-4710
District 7
US Route 178 East Bowman Road
Orangeburg, SC 29116
District 2
510 W. Alexander Ave.
Greenwood, SC 29646
(864) 227-6971
District 4
1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 377-4155
District 6
6355 Fain Blvd.
North Charleston, SC 29406
(843) 740-1665
(803) 531-6850

Comments will be accepted until the close of business on September 5, 2012 and should be forwarded to Mark Pleasant, Statewide Planning Chief at SCDOT, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or .


For more information pertaining to Lowcountry Council of Governments’ Veterans Transportation Federal Transit Administration’s Planning Grant Project, please contact:  Diane Lackey, Statewide Programs Manager, Office of Public Transit at 803-737-0146.