May 25
SCDOT Considers Replacing the US 76 Bridges Over Mill Creek in Richland County Under One Contract

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is seeking public comment for a proposed amendment to the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) that involves revising plans for replacing the US 76 eastbound lane bridge over Mill Creek in Richland County to include the replacement of the US 76 westbound lane bridge at the same location.

The US 76 east and westbound lane bridges were built in 1939 and 1956, respectively, and are rated structurally deficient and functionally obsolete. The SCDOT Commission approved replacing the eastbound lane bridge in 2008.

Looking for cost effective measures, the SCDOT Commission is proposing to replace both the eastbound lane and westbound lane bridge under one contract at a cost of $6.5 million in 2014. The revised plan would save the state approximately $1.5 million and reduce the impact on the motoring public during the construction phase.

A copy of this press release and a project location map also are available for public review and comment on the world web at:

To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release and supporting information are available for public review and comment at the following locations:

South Carolina Council of Governments:
Appalachian Council of Governments
Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg
30 Century Circle
Greenville, SC 29606

Lower Savannah Council of Governments
Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg
2748 Wagener Road
Hwy 302 North
Aiken, SC 29801
(864) 242-9733
(803) 649-7981

Upper Savannah Council of Governments
Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick & Saluda
222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200
Greenwood, SC 29646

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments
Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter
36 West Liberty Street
Sumter, SC 29151
(803) 775-7381
(864) 941-8090

Catawba Regional Council of Governments
Chester, Lancaster, York & Union
215 Hampton Street
Second Floor
Rock Hill, SC 29731

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments
Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro
2319 Regional Road
Florence, SC 29501
(803) 327-1912
(843) 669-4392

Central Midlands Council of Governments
Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland
236 Stoneridge Drive
Columbia, SC 29210

Lowcountry Council of Governments
Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper
634 Campground Road
Yemassee, SC 29945
(803) 376-5390
(843) 726-5536

Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments
Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg
1230 Highmarket Street
Georgetown, SC 29440

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments
Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester
1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100
North Charleston, SC 29405
(843) 546-8502
(843) 529-0400

SCDOT District Offices:
District 1
1400 Shop Road
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 737-6660


District 3
252 S. Pleasantburg Drive
Greenville, SC 29607
(864) 241-1010


District 5
3018 East Palmetto
Florence, SC 29506
(843) 661-4710


District 7
US Route 178 East Bowman Road
Orangeburg, SC 29116


District 2
510 W. Alexander Ave.
Greenwood, SC 29646
(864) 227-6971


District 4
1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 377-4155


District 6
6355 Fain Blvd.
North Charleston, SC 29406
(843) 740-1665
(803) 531-6850


Comments will be accepted until the close of business on June 7, 2012 and should be forwarded to Mr. Mark Pleasant, Statewide Planning Chief at SCDOT, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or