January 29
SC Department of Transportation Announces Plans to Improve the Riding Surface on 23-Mile Portion of Interstate 95 in Florence, Dillon Counties

The SC Department of Transportation announces plans to improve the riding surface of a 23-mile portion of Interstate 95 in Florence and Dillon counties.

The improvements will be done on I-95 northbound and southbound from near SC 327 (in Florence County) to near SC 9 (in Dillon County).

 In September 2007, the Commission approved various sections of I-95 northbound and southbound between SC 327 in Florence County (mile marker 171) and SC 9 in Dillon County (mile marker 194) for improvements.  The SCDOT Commission modified this approval on January 17 to include all sections of I-95 northbound and southbound from near SC 327 to near SC 9.

“This action was done based on the desire to bring to market a construction contract that avoids duplication of work, minimizes disruption of traffic and provides the most cost-effective construction management by SCDOT,” said South Carolina Secretary of Transportation H.B. “Buck” Limehouse Jr.

SCDOT has already begun developing plans to patch, grind, seal, and overlay I-95 from near SC 327 to near SC 9.  Barring any unforeseen circumstances, SCDOT expects contractors to submit bids this summer or fall. Construction is expected to begin this fall.

“I am very pleased we are moving forward with this project to improve I-95,” said SCDOT Commissioner Marvin Stevenson, who represents the 6th Congressional District. “I support the cost-saving strategy of rehabilitating this entire section as opposed to doing it piecemeal. This is a win-win for the Pee Dee area and the state of South Carolina."

The South Carolina Secretary of Transportation is H. B. “Buck” Limehouse, Jr. The SCDOT Commission includes Chairman Bobby T. Jones, 5th Congressional District; Vice Chairman Joe Young, 1st Congressional District; Henry Taylor, 2nd Congressional District; Marion P. Carnell, 3rd Congressional District; F. Hugh Atkins, 4th Congressional District; Marvin Stevenson, 6th Congressional District; and Tee Hooper, Governor’s At-Large Appointee.


            High-resolution photographs of Secretary of Transportation H.B. "Buck" Limehouse Jr. and Commissioner Marvin Stevenson are available for download at the following location: