December 05
Federal Highway Administration Presents National Awards To SCDOT Commission for Innovative Highway Programs

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) presented the South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) Commission with national awards for excellence and innovation during the Commission’s meeting on Wednesday, Dec. 5, in Spartanburg.

SCDOT received national recognition from FHWA and the Roadway Safety Foundation (RSF) for excellence and innovation in operations, planning and roadway design to reduce fatalities and injuries on our nation’s highways.

Secretary of Transportation H.B. “Buck” Limehouse Jr. said safety is SCDOT’s number one priority.

“These awards are a good indicator that SCDOT is on the right track in our mission, which is to provide the best and safest highway system possible,” Limehouse said. “We’ve worked very hard to improve the safety of our state’s highways, and it’s an honor to be recognized nationally for those efforts. However, there’s much more work to be done, and we look forward to the continued cooperation that SCDOT has enjoyed from other state agencies, particularly the South Carolina Department of Public Safety and the Governor’s Office.”