December 21
Public Comment Sought for Lowcountry COG Veterans Transportation FTA Grant Project

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is seeking comment from the public on projects receiving funding from the Federal Transit Administration’s Section 5309 Discretionary Programs for amendment into the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). 


The Lowcountry Council of Governments (LCOG) has been awarded a grant from the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) in the amount of $124,480 under the FTA Section 5309 discretionary funding program (Bus and Bus Facilities Veterans Transportation and Community Living Initiative).  The purpose of the Veterans Transportation and Community Living Initiative (VTCLI) Program is to increase the availability of community transportation resources to veterans, service members and military families.  In addition, the VTCLI Program has the objective of improving the accessibility of existing mobility resources and other transportation information to the entire community.


Lowcountry COG has partnered with the transit provider in the area, the Lowcountry Regional Transportation Authority (LRTA, which operates as Palmetto Breeze), to carry out the operational aspects of this project.  Since a key objective of this grant program is to utilize technology to improve and expand service delivery, the project partners will use a significant portion of the VTCLI grant to install mobile data terminals in regional transit vehicles to implement automatic vehicle location capability, and create a website portal that can be accessed by transit customers.


The Veterans Transportation and Community Living Initiative Project, as carried out by the Lowcountry COG and Palmetto Breeze, will operate in Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton and Jasper Counties.


                Also a copy of this press release and other pertinent information is available for public review and comment on the world web at:




            To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release is available for public review and comment at the following locations:


South Carolina Council of Governments:

Appalachian Council of Governments

Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,

Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg

30 Century Circle

Greenville, SC 29606

Lower Savannah Council of Governments

Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg

2748 Wagener Road

Hwy 302 North

Aiken, SC 29801

(864) 242-9733

(803) 649-7981


Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens,   McCormick & Saluda

222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200

Greenwood, SC 29646


Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter

36 West Liberty Street

Sumter, SC 29151

(803) 775-7381                                                                                      

(864) 941-8090




Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union

215 Hampton Street

Second Floor

Rock Hill, SC 29731

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro

2319 Regional Road

Florence, SC 29501

(803) 327-1912


(843) 669-4392



Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland

236 Stoneridge Drive

Columbia, SC 29210

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper

634 Campground Road

Yemassee, SC 29945

(803) 376-5390



(843) 726-5536

Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg

1230 Highmarket Street

Georgetown, SC 29440

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester

1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100

North Charleston, SC 29405

  (843) 546-8502             (843) 529-0400



SCDOT District Offices:

District 1

1400 Shop Road

Columbia, SC 29201

(803) 737-6660



District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive

Greenville, SC 29607

(864) 241-1010



District 5

3018 East Palmetto

Florence, SC 29506

(843) 661-4710


District 7

US Route 178 East Bowman Road

Orangeburg, SC 29116

District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave.

Greenwood, SC 29646

(864) 227-6971



District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass

Chester, SC 29706

(803) 377-4155



District 6

6355 Fain Blvd.

North Charleston, SC 29406

(843) 740-1665

  (803) 531-6850


Comments will be accepted until the close of business on January 12, 2012 and should be forwarded to Diane Lackey, Statewide Programs Manager Office of Public Transit at SCDOT, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or