December 21
Public Comment Sought for the City of Seneca’s FTA Grant Award

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) is seeking comment from the public on projects receiving funding from the Federal Transit Administration’s Section 5309 Discretionary Programs for amendment into the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP).


  The City of Seneca, South Carolina has been notified that they have been awarded USDOT TIGGER III (Transit Investments for Greenhouse Gas and Energy Reduction) funds in the amount of $4,118,000.  These dollars have been provided through a discretionary program (Section 5309) of the Federal Transit Administration.  The SCDOT has applied for these funds on behalf of the City of Seneca. 


TIGGER is a capital assistance program with the intent of reducing energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions.  The award will be used to purchase all-electric buses, charging stations and to fund the City of Seneca’s administration of the project.  The Southern Company, an energy provider based in Atlanta, Georgia, has committed to providing required matching funds for the capital portion of this project. 


The Clemson Area Transit (CATBUS) system is the contract operator for the City of Seneca’s transit service and will operate the all-electric buses on the city’s routes. CATBUS is a general public transit operator providing fare-free fixed route service in the City of Clemson and the City of Seneca as well as Clemson University, the Town of Central, the Town of Pendleton and providing connections to Electric City Transit in Anderson County.   The funding period designated for the City of Seneca’s TIGGER III project is from October 2011 to the end of December 2014. 


Information pertaining to this award may be reviewed by contacting:


City of Seneca, South Carolina

221 East North First Street

Seneca, SC 29679

Attn:  Ed Halbig, Planning & Development Director

(864) 885-2700


            Also a copy of this press release and other pertinent information is available for public review and comment on the world web at:



            To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release is available for public review and comment at the following locations:


South Carolina Council of Governments:

Appalachian Council of Governments

Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,

Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg

30 Century Circle

Greenville, SC 29606

Lower Savannah Council of Governments

Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun & Orangeburg

2748 Wagener Road

Hwy 302 North

Aiken, SC 29801

(864) 242-9733


(803) 649-7981





Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens,   McCormick & Saluda

222 Phoenix Street, Suite 200

Greenwood, SC 29646

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter

36 West Liberty Street

Sumter, SC 29151

(803) 775-7381                                                                                      

(864) 941-8090



Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union

215 Hampton Street

Second Floor

Rock Hill, SC 29731

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro

2319 Regional Road

Florence, SC 29501

(803) 327-1912


(843) 669-4392



Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland

236 Stoneridge Drive

Columbia, SC 29210

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper

634 Campground Road

Yemassee, SC 29945

(803) 376-5390



(843) 726-5536

Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg

1230 Highmarket Street

Georgetown, SC 29440

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester

1362 McMillan Ave, Suite 100

North Charleston, SC 29405

(843) 546-8502             (843) 529-0400


SCDOT District Offices:

District 1

1400 Shop Road

Columbia, SC 29201

(803) 737-6660



District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive

Greenville, SC 29607

(864) 241-1010



District 5

3018 East Palmetto

Florence, SC 29506

(843) 661-4710



District 7

US Route 178 East Bowman Road

Orangeburg, SC 29116


District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave.

Greenwood, SC 29646

(864) 227-6971



District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass

Chester, SC 29706

(803) 377-4155



District 6

6355 Fain Blvd.

North Charleston, SC 29406

(843) 740-1665

  (803) 531-6850



            Comments will be accepted until the close of business on January 12, 2012 and should be forwarded to Diane Lackey, Statewide Programs Manager Office of Public Transit at SCDOT, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or